Retrieving data in a form

iangorm1

Board Regular
Hi All,

I am new to Access - so please bear with me.

I have 2 tables.

Table 1 has a unique site identifier field for each record. From a form I would like the user to enter the site identifier, which would result in the site address data for that record being retrieved from Table 1. This address cannot be changed on this form, so I assume I will need to display it in a message box on the form?

The user (on the same form) then proceeds to enter other data to update Table 2.

I know how to use a form to input data, but don't know how to get it to recall and display data based upon the site identifier.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.

All the Best,

Ian :confused: [/b]

Excel Facts

Quick Sum
Select a range of cells. The total appears in bottom right of Excel screen. Right-click total to add Max, Min, Count, Average.
Hi Ian

Assuming there is a one to many relationship between the two tables (you can set this under menu Option Tools > Relationships) then do the following :

1. Build a query that includes all of the data from the 2nd table and the fields from the 1st table that you want to see on the form. Include the identifier field from the 2nd table (the field that links it to the 1st table) but don't include the unique ID field from the 1st table (just to avoid any confusion).
2. Save the query.
3. Go into the form design, and change the control source of the form to this query (and not the table). You can get to this by clicking Edit > Select Form, click menu option View > Properties > Data tab > Record Source > use the drop down box to select the query.
4. Make sure each field in the query has a corresponding bound text box on the form (especially the fields from the 1st table).
5. Save the form.