HELP !! I got hit by Cryptolocker

Jim885

Not sure how this happened, or when I got the virus. However, while I was on this site at 7:30AM EST, I was hit. Now all my documents, pictures, etc., are encrypted and I can't open anything.

Anyone have any advise to resolve this other than paying the "ransom"?

Excel Facts

How to total the visible cells?
From the first blank cell below a filtered data set, press Alt+=. Instead of SUM, you will get SUBTOTAL(9,)
To the best of my knowledge, nobody ever actually got their files back by paying the ransom. However, you may be in luck as there is a site that will provide the key for you: https://www.decryptcryptolocker.com/
Note: I got this link from the BBC, but I have no personal experience of the site in question.

Upvote 0
Thanks Rory. I'm trying that now, but it's taking a long time to upload one of the infected files, as the site asks for.

What I've done so far was to run my Norton antivirus. It deleted 15 infected files.
My research is showing that this trojan malware is received in one of two ways.
1.) Opening file attachments from an email (which I never do)
2.) Getting the malware from an infected site.

The only sites I visited in the last month have been this site, another excel help site, my credit card sites, home depot, my bank sites, and a hobby site that I have belonged to for 8+ years.

Anyway, back to the problem, and what I've uncovered so far ...
The ransom is $300.00
The trojan has placed three files in each of my folders.
These are two text files that tell me that all my files are now "protected" on another server with a private key, and I'm directed with procedures to pay the ransom.
The third file is a link to the webside where I am to pay the ransom.

Upvote 0
The files infected are all my document files (pdf, excel, Word, Powerpoint, Access, etc.) and many of the picture formats.
The only picture formats that were NOT affected are; gif and png

Upvote 0