not to reduce Fractions

rxp214

Hello, I'm a teacher that has been delegated a task by a supervisor, and I need some help. My boss wants scores reported as fractions for end year tests. The denominator tells us which individual test, but excel wants to keep reducing the fraction. How can I get excel to not reduce the fraction. :(

Excel Facts

Lock one reference in a formula
Need 1 part of a formula to always point to the same range? use $ signs: $V$2:$Z$99 will always point to V2:Z99, even after copying
Welcome to the board.

If your goal is to just *show* the fraction (as opposed to calculating a value for future use), consider using =A1&"/"&A2 or similar.

Upvote 0
I think there will be a future calculation with the scores, but even if not, I don't understand enough to understand the solution"=A1&"/"&A2 or similar" as you posted. Sorry for the burden of being so uneducated in excel.

Upvote 0
Hello, I'm a teacher that has been delegated a task by a supervisor, and I need some help. My boss wants scores reported as fractions for end year tests. The denominator tells us which individual test, but excel wants to keep reducing the fraction. How can I get excel to not reduce the fraction. :(

Example to work with please

Upvote 0
No Reducing Fraction