Need a formula to list possible combinations of 5 digit code

This is a discussion on Need a formula to list possible combinations of 5 digit code within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Hello, I am currently working on a project that i cannot discuss at present, but i am an absolute Excel ...

Default Need a formula to list possible combinations of 5 digit code

Hello,

I am currently working on a project that i cannot discuss at present, but i am an absolute Excel novice and my project requires some help from a pro.

What I require is a formula to calculate and list every possible combination of numbers that could be in a 5 digit code that contains any numbers between 1 and 50, but without any duplication of numbers within one set of 5 digits. e.g. a bit like lottery numbers or a safe combination.

I would imagine the total number of possible combinations is somewhere up in the millions, and as such might take quite a while to work out everyone by hand.

I hope that someone can help me or point me in the right direction of how to solve this problem.

I apologise for making this so obscure.

Many thanks

Wayne

MrExcel MVP

Hi Wayne, welcome to the Board!

Calculating the number of possible permutations or combinations is straightfoward.
    For permutations: =PERMUT(50,5). The answer is 254,251,200
    For combinations: =COMBIN(50,5). The answer is 2,118,760
    You're after unique combinations -- but where you do want to store over 2 million results, and how would you reference them?

Denis
    Self-preservation: For when you've got yourself in a jam
    ------------------------------------------------------
    My site contains a number of Excel and Access Resources

Hi Denis,

Thanks for the warm welcome and quick reply.