Excel 2007, can't insert new row

This is a discussion on Excel 2007, can't insert new row within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Afternoon, I have been using excel 2007 for a few months now. I have never had a problem inserting a ...

Board Regular

Default Excel 2007, can't insert new row

Afternoon,

I have been using excel 2007 for a few months now. I have never had a problem inserting a new row. When I right click on a cell to insert a new row it is grayed out in the drop down box. The only way I can insert a new line is to go to the Ribbon Bar and click insert row. Does anyone know of a way I can make it to where I can insert a row from right clicking on the cell and inserting a row. It works perfect on my other computer, I just can't get it to work on this one?

Wondering if I need to re-install excel 2007 on the computer?

Thanks,
    Tatorman

Default Re: Excel 2007, can't insert new row

The only time I have seen this problem is when the sheet is protected.
    Go to Review and see if the sheet is protected if so unprotect it.
    ASUS G75VW Gaming Computer with 16 GB Memory and Windows 8, Office 2013, Surface Pro also with Windows 8 and Office 2013 & HTC Windows Phone 8x.
    Boy Excel is hard to learn, does anybody know where I can buy a memory pill, so I quit forgetting it as fast as I learn it.

Check to see if the workbook is shared, that might be causing the problem.

Board Regular

I tried the info shared with me, however, I am not having much luck getting it to work again. Fear I may have punched the wrong button somewhere? I tried re-installing Excel 2007 but it is not working. When I right click on a cell to insert a new row it is grayed out in the drop down box. I can do it through the ribbon, but not by right clicking. Same with the auto-fill

Does the title bar of the workbook contain the text [Shared]?

Board Regular

No sir,

I got the autofill to work.