Percentage Increase in A Period

Jessi88

I'm doing research with a professor at the University of Florida. This is my first time using Excel to any extent, so I need everything from the ground up!

I have the housing values for each of the 50 states from 1975 to 2006. I need to analyze each state individually to see if there were any points during that 26 year span when housing values increased by more than 20%. I need to know when this increase started and when values peaked and began to fall. I could do this manually, but I'm assuming that would take a while.

Is there a simple way to do this in excel? A macro, or a UDF (I have no clue about either of them by the way).

Thanks so much!

The 50 states are listed in a column and the rows next to each state having housing values for the 26 years. ( I don't know if that is relevant).;)

Excel Facts

Format cells as date
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+3 to format cells as date. (Shift 3 is the # sign which sort of looks like a small calendar).
Hello, welcome to the board. :)

Sounds like you want to use the CAGR, e.g.,

http://mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?p=86394

The function you want is in G17/Function bar. Probably insert a row for each state, make it cumulative (using absolute references and variable references) and copy accross. Or maybe even better, just start a new grid, down below.

If you need more help, let us know.

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I am so utterly lost. I have no idea what any of that means...
I'm really sorry. Is there a different forum for beginners?

...the CAGR will search all the housing values within a particular state and automatically tell me which periods had a 20% or more increase?

Upvote 0
No, sorry Jessi, I'm afraid you're stuck with me in the deep end. :)

I can't tell by what you mean by periods. Did you want to compare cumulatively or year-over-year? See the following:

(I had to delete this, see the attached file)
<DELETED spreadsheet>