Auto-Generate Number in Sequence

End_User

Hello all,

I need your help because I am a bit of a newbie! I have a spreadsheet that has a unique number for each row that gets sorted by due date. When a new record is added, the number for the row has to be the next in sequence. Is there a way to automatically generate the next number that should be used for a new row that is not a duplicate of any of the numbers above it.

Here's an example of what I mean:

1 John Doe email@email.com 1/1/2010
2 Jane Smith email@email.com 5/1/2010
<generate next number = 3> etc...

If it can't be automatically generated, then even if I can pick it from a list would be okay.

The reason I can't just number the rows beneath it and wait for them to be filled in is that this list gets exported based on the number of records in it. If I fill in numbers it exports blank records.

I'm hoping someone here could help me!

Excel Facts

Select all contiguous cells
Pressing Ctrl+* (asterisk) will select the "current region" - all contiguous cells in all directions.
Hi and welcome to the Board!!
You can use a VBA solution for this!!
Basicly when a new date is entered, the sheet resorts and renumbers!! Would that be an Option?? It's not diffecult to do and would run in the background!!
What column holds your Date? What Column has the numbers??
lenze

Upvote 0
Hi Lenze,

The sheet needs to sort by the due date before anything else. Right now, there is a macro (called Sort) that runs at workbook open. First is sorts column N (due date), then column B (number), both ascending.

Also, I have another question I forgot in my first post. Someone before me has built a macro that refers to specific rows. Is there a way to change the 2 to 50 part of the text below in blue to equal however many rows there are filled in starting at row 2 and goes to the last entry?

With ActiveSheet
For row = 2 To 100

I hope that made sense!

Upvote 0