VBA Conditional Formatting - Multiple Criteria

This is a discussion on VBA Conditional Formatting - Multiple Criteria within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Hello, Using Excel 2003 on XP, I am attempting to add CF to a macro using VBA . I'm very ...

Default VBA Conditional Formatting - Multiple Criteria

Hello,

Using Excel 2003 on XP, I am attempting to add CF to a macro using VBA. I'm very new to VBA, so my syntax isn't always clean. I can't find a similar enough reference to what I'm trying to do, so I need help, or I'll pull out the rest of my hair.

Here is a sample of the code I'm trying to use - pared down to two Cases from six, for visibility:

Dim fairtype as Range
    Dim rangevar As Range

Set fairtype = Sheets("Monitor").Range("C1")
    Set rangevar = Sheets("Adv").Range("d2:d600")

For Each cell In rangevar

Select Case fairtype

Case "PRES"
    If (rangevar.Value = "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*pic*") Then
    cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 35
    cell.Interior.Pattern = xlSolid
    End If

Case "MIL"
    If (rangevar.Value = "*Best*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Green*") Then
    cell.Interior.ColorIndex = 35
    cell.Interior.Pattern = xlSolid
    End If

End Select

Next cell

I'm getting a "Type Mismatch" error in Case "MIL" (that is what is in the Range when I run the macro, so skipping over Case "PRES" is correct).

Please let me know how I messed this up.

MrExcel MVP

Default Re: VBA Conditional Formatting - Multiple Criteria

This won't work:

If (rangevar.Value = "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value = "*pic*") Then

Try:

If (rangevar.Value Like "*holiday*") Or (rangevar.Value Like "*Yellow*") Or (rangevar.Value Like "*pic*") Then
    Microsoft MVP - Excel

You might want to use a Select-Case structure instead of the If-Or structure you have right now.

You also may want to use the InStr function instead of wildcards. The syntax for that would be: