Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Excel AutoFill Default

This is a discussion on Excel AutoFill Default within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Excel defaults to filling a series with the autofill. I put 1 in cell a1 and autofill down it goes ...

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    5

    Default Excel AutoFill Default

    Excel defaults to filling a series with the autofill. I put 1 in cell a1 and autofill down it goes to 2,3,4,5...
    How do I change the default so it stays 1 all the way down?

    I know to use CTRL/click/drag to copy.

    What I am asking is if the default can be changed so that clicking and dragging produces a copy; CTRL/click/drag produces the series.

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    366

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    I'm not sure if this helps you out for your specific problem, but in the case you listed above, if you were to place a 1 in both cells A1 & A2, highlight both cells with the cursor, -then- drag it to copy, or double-click to auto fill, it will remain 1's all the way down.

  3. #3
    MrExcel MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Austin, Texas USA
    Posts
    11,654

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jarens
    Excel defaults to filling a series with the autofill. I put 1 in cell a1 and autofill down it goes to 2,3,4,5...
    How do I change the default so it stays 1 all the way down?

    I know to use CTRL/click/drag to copy.

    What I am asking is if the default can be changed so that clicking and dragging produces a copy; CTRL/click/drag produces the series.

    Thanks!
    Excel doesn't default to filling a series if you left click on the fill handle and drag down. If you right-click on the fill handle and drag you'll be promoted for the desired nature of the fill. What's there to customize?

  4. #4
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    198

    Unhappy Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    The problem is because he is using the double click, not the drag and click!

    Can you answer his question?

    How does he get excel to default to COPY instead of SERIES on a double click auto fill??

    No one answered his question!

  5. #5
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    198

    Angry Re: Excel AutoFill Default BUMP!

    Bump Bump!

    Okay you experts!

    Simple question! How long has this guy been waiting for an answer?

    Here it is:

    HOW DO YOU MAKE EXCEL DEFAULT TO 'COPY' INSTEAD OF 'SERIES' WHEN YOU DO A DOUBLE CLICK AUTO FILL ON THE FILL HANDLE???

    (Excel defaults to 'SERIES' if you are copying a number)

    Any takers?

  6. #6
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    198

    Cool Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    Wow, This question is from 2003 and still no answer? I though you folks were the EXCEL EXPERTS?

    EXCEL SPREADSHEET:


    A B C D
    ________|________|_______|_______|____________________________
    2|______|________|_______|_______|
    3|______|1______. |_f_____|_______|
    4|______|________|_f_____|_______|
    5|______|________|_f_____|_______|
    6|______|________|_f_____|_______|
    7|______|________|_f_____|_______|
    8|______|________|_______|_______|

    Look guys: if you put your mouse pointer on the little fill handle at the bottom right corner of cell B3 and DOUBLE CLICK - the **** Excel program will fill in a series of numbers doen to the end of where the letter "f" is in the ajacent cells. Then yu need to click another box to get it to switch to COPY.

    Is there a way to just make it default to COPY??

    The guy wants the number "1" to copy al the way down to the last "f".

    You think this is no big deal but just consider it if you columns are 46 THOUSAND records long!!! The old CLAICK and DRAG crap is just not going to be practical!

    Still no takers?

    (Can you tel I'm baiting you?)

  7. #7
    Board Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    bump

  8. #8
    Board Regular arkusM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    I'll take the bait!! (I might learn something then!)
    Excel tries to interperate a pattern.
    Put a "1" on Cell B3 and B4 highlight both cells and double click.
    "1" all the way down 46K rows! (as long as the data is uninterupted.)
    my system: WinXP - Excel2003 >> Now Win2007 and Excel 2010
    Great Addin: Smart Indenter
    "A couple of hours in the VBE can frequently save a couple of minutes on Google"

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    Did this ever get solved? I have a slightly different twist. I want to copy the phrase "Week 12" to a number of cells below. Then I want to copy "Week 13" to a number of cells below, etc. The cells I am copying to contain numbers that I overwrite when I do this. If I place the cursor on the cell containing "Week 12" and drag the fill handle, I get "Week 13" "Week 14" etc. So, I just go ahead and do that then select the copy cells option. But, it does get tedious.

  10. #10
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default Re: Excel AutoFill Default

    Duh! I'm so sorry, I just figured out the answer as soon as I posted this! If I hold down the CTRL key when my mouse cursor is over the fill handle, til I see the little plus sign, then it will copy the cell contents, rather than filling a series. :D

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Like this thread? Share it with others

Like this thread? Share it with others

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


DMCA.com