vba - excel 2010 - use macro to download pdf files, rename the files and save them in a folder

abeltio

Good times everyone,

Using: windows 7 professional, excel 2010 and ie 8.0

Please forgive my almost close to "absolute zero" knowledge of vba - an absolute beginner, in the immortal words of David Bowie -

Googling, cutting, pasting and with trial and error and error and error... managed to prepare some code for what i needed and so far been successful thanks to the work of many member and MVPs in this forum.

Now i am truly stuck, please have mercy: don't send me to interpret code that does not contain the nomenclature listed below! :eek:)

DESCRIPTION
01. Given an intranet URL, lets call it: doc_list
This is a URL (company intranet, so it is useless to post it - there is no access from outside) that contains a list of documents with hyperlinks.

02. How does doc_list look?
The URL doc_list has a list of documents, and the list is organized as follows:
10-2R1 Title of document 10
0101-R3 Title of document 0101
1820 Title of document 1820

There are about 2500 documents.

03. How does doc_list work?
The numbers on the left have hyperlinks to a pdf file, or sometimes HTML file that contains the document itself.

When clicking on the link provided the target pdf or HTML file opens.

Check the hyperlinks in the example above: the pdf or HTML filenames "look like" the nomenclature shown in doc_list but are not identical, the hyphen is gone and the "R" converted to an "r", sometimes! There is no consistency.

04. What do i need to do?
Create a vba macro in excel 2010 that will:

04.a - open the doc_list URL

04.b - FOR EACH DOCUMENT IN doc_list:

04.b.1 Follow the link provided**

04.b.2 - create a folder named T-pdf in a path selected by the user (with a browse function similar to "Save As")
04.b.3 - save each target file of the hyperlinks in doc_list in the folder called T-pdf we just created

04.b.4 - print all the HTML files saved in folder T-pdf to pdf