"Personal.XLSB is locked for editing"

This is a discussion on "Personal.XLSB is locked for editing" within the Excel Questions forums, part of the Question Forums category; Hello all, I have a simple macro that's in my default Excel startup file (Personal.xlsb - located in the folder ...

Board Regular

Default "Personal.XLSB is locked for editing"

Hello all,

I have a simple macro that's in my default Excel startup file (Personal.xlsb - located in the folder C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART).

The problem is when I try to open two instances of Excel (not create a new workbook). I get the error message "Personal.XLSB is locked for editing."

I've look at other threads that talk about adding the macro as an "Add-In" (Personal.xlsb and multiple Excel's), BUT my problem is that I want to assign the macro a keyboard shoutcut (currently set to ctrl + shift + v).

Is this possible? If so, can someone walk me through it since I'm very new to add in and don't know of a way to assign an add-in macro a keyboard shortcut.

~ Im2bz2p345

shg

Default Re: "Personal.XLSB is locked for editing"

Close the instance of Excel that has opened Personal read-only, and assign the shortcut in the other instance. Then save Personal.xlsb (you can do that explicitly via the VBE, or be prompted to do so when you close the second instance of Excel).

Board Regular

Quote Originally Posted by shg View Post
    Close the instance of Excel that has opened Personal read-only, and assign the shortcut in the other instance. Then save Personal.xlsb (you can do that explicitly via the VBE, or be prompted to do so when you close the second instance of Excel).
    Maybe I'm not understanding clearly enough, but let me clarify my situation..

Personal.xlsb (located at C:\Documents and Settings\Username\Application Data\Microsoft\Excel\XLSTART) is where my macro's are saved and where my shortcut is saved.