Vlookup and Sum Across Multiple Tabs?

Dean99

Hi Everyone-

I currently have a tax workbook with 50+ tabs (at least one for each State), and in each tab there are tables with many divisions and the amount of taxes paid. I'm trying to figure out a way to do a vlookup and sum in a main summary worksheet such that I can get the total taxes paid by each division (it would need to vlookup each of the 50+ tabs, and then sum). Is there a way to do this? I'm not very good with VBA so please be gentle if that's what is required . . .

Thanks in advance for your help!

Excel Facts

Difference between two dates
Secret function! Use =DATEDIF(A2,B2,"Y")&" years"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"YM")&" months"&=DATEDIF(A2,B2,"MD")&" days"
Welcome to the board!

A formula like this would work:
Code:
=SUM(Sheet2!A1,Sheet4!A1)

As long as the total is in the same cell on every sheet

Michael

Upvote 0
Hi Guys-

Thanks for your reply! However, the values I'm summing are now always in the same cell . . . although , they will be in the same column (hence, I was trying to do a vlookup). Is this possible? Thanks!

Upvote 0
Something like that sounds like it would be simpler with Named Ranges:

=Sum(Alabama!SalesTax + Alaska!SalesTax + ... + Wyoming!SalesTax)

Other than that (pretty simplistic) idea, can you give an example of what you're trying to accomplish?

Upvote 0
Hi Guys-

Thanks for your reply! However, the values I'm summing are now always in the same cell . . . although , they will be in the same column (hence, I was trying to do a vlookup). Is this possible? Thanks!
Did you try to look at the link I have posted?
VLOOKUP will not give you SUM from the sheets(unless nested(VLOOKUP()+VLOOKUP()....))

To post data:
You can download and install two of the following programs:

HTLMaker

or
Excel Jeanie

or when using Internet Explorer just put borders around your data in Excel and copy those cells into your post.

Upvote 0