Simple formula to sort text?

stuckagain22

Board Regular
A few months back I found a simple formula for sorting a column of text data into another column which would display it alphabetically. The formula was the most simplest text sorting formula I have ever seen. If I recall it just used the SMALL function and also had "<=" in it. (It was not an array, and I don't think it even used the ROW function (but I might be wrong on that?) I have it in a spreadsheet at work using it, but I will not be back at the office for over 1 week.

I have spent 20 minutes scouring the internet trying to find the formula, but I am not able to find it. If someone knows what this formula might be, could you please let me know. Thank you.

Excel Facts

Which lookup functions find a value equal or greater than the lookup value?
MATCH uses -1 to find larger value (lookup table must be sorted ZA). XLOOKUP uses 1 to find values greater and does not need to be sorted.
Hi,

I'm no expert, but I wouldn't have thought this was possible without using an array formula, unless you are using a "Helper" column of course!!
These are array formulas...

Sort a range from A to Z using array formula in excel | Get Digital Help - Microsoft Excel resource

Unique distinct list from a column sorted A to Z using array formula in excel | Get Digital Help - Microsoft Excel resource

Excel Magic Trick 759: Array Formula To Sort List & Remove Duplicates - Dynamic Named Range - YouTube

Or, using a "Helper" column...

Excel Magic Trick 763: Formula to Sort Words (including Duplicates) and extract data - YouTube

Now this has been bumped up, perhaps one of the formula geniuses may come across the post and advise if this is possible without using a "Helper" column and array formulas, and provide an amazing solution!

Ak

Last edited:
Upvote 0
I will get someone from work to e-mail me the spreadsheet tomorrow. Its just uses an amazing small formula and it is not an array (which is why I prefer using it).

Upvote 0