VBA Evaluate Range and VLOOKUP

DocAElstein

Banned user
Hi,
As a beginner I may be going a bit above my head!!

After studying and participating at some considerable length in Threads and links to do with using the Evaluate function to speed things up, I thought I understood it. Here are some of those links and Threads. (www.excelfox.com/forum/f22/concatenating-balls-1891/ VBA Trick of the Week :: Avoid Loop for Range Calculations – Evaluate | Useful Gyaan )

. So … the following simplified example File (XL2007 .xlsm)
https://app.box.com/s/pr78mhna00advvhsrmvi
has a Spreadsheet LEFT Function and a Spreadsheet VLOOKUP Function

The results look good! (That is to say wot I expect!) :-

Book1
ABCD
1Produnt
2Name
3Chocolate-europe aroma4Choc
4Chocolate-Cookies0Choc
5Banana-Chocolate-Split10Bana
6Limette-Ksekuchen16Lime
7Erdbeere-Quark8Erdb
8Erdbeere-Mix0Erdb
9Jamaica Sun6Jama
10Waldbeeren0Wald
14LOOKUP Table
15Product Name
16Haselnu-Walnu-aromatisiert
17Tiramisu2
18Chocolate-colonial blend
19Chocolate-europe aroma4
20Chocolate-Cookies
21Jamaica Sun6
22Himbeere-Joghurt
23Erdbeere-Quark8
24Erdbeere-Mix
25Banana-Chocolate-Split10
26Waldbeeren
27Kirsche12
28Kirsche-grner Apfel
29Kirsche-Ananas14
30Stracciatella
31Limette-Ksekuchen16
32grner Apfel-Quark
33Blutorange-Quark
Sheet1
Cell Formulas
RangeFormula
B3=VLOOKUP(A3,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B4=VLOOKUP(A4,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B5=VLOOKUP(A5,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B6=VLOOKUP(A6,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B7=VLOOKUP(A7,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B8=VLOOKUP(A8,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B9=VLOOKUP(A9,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
B10=VLOOKUP(A10,$A$16:$C$33,3,FALSE)
D3=LEFT(A3,4)
D4=LEFT(A4,4)
D5=LEFT(A5,4)
D6=LEFT(A6,4)
D7=LEFT(A7,4)
D8=LEFT(A8,4)
D9=LEFT(A9,4)
D10=LEFT(A10,4)

I apply this code

Code:
[color=darkblue]Sub[/color] Evaluate_Left()[color=darkblue]Dim[/color] rngName [color=darkblue]As[/color] Range
[color=darkblue]Set[/color] rngName = ThisWorkbook.Worksheets("Sheet1").Range("A3:A10")