VBA to create a named range

robprager

Hi everyone, I'm a VBA newbie and trying to learn more :)

I'm running Windows 7 and Office 2013.

I read this page, http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/excel-...l-basic-applications-define-named-ranges.html, but the code that was provided isn't exactly the same as what I am after.

I have the following scenario on a worksheet (see below), except in my specific case, I have about 70 different combinations of named ranges to create, so I have populated until row 70. I'm looking for a macro that will create a named range by taking the text string in A1, and making that the named range for the range reference in B1 etc.

AB
1NamedRange1Sheet1:Sheet3!$A$1:$A$5
2NamedRange2Sheet1:Sheet3!$A$6:$A$10
3NamedRange3Sheet1:Sheet3!$A$11:$A$15

<tbody>
</tbody>

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out :)

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Waterfall charts in Excel?
Office 365 customers have access to Waterfall charts since late 2016. They were added to Excel 2019.
Welcome to the board.

3D ranges can only be used by the few functions that accept them in the user interface. They cannot be used at all in VBA, and you cannot create a named 3D range.

Upvote 0
Actually, it looks like the Evaluate method can be used for a 3D reference...

Code:
x = Application.Evaluate("SUM(NamedRange1)")

To create the named ranges, try...

Code:
[COLOR=darkblue]Option[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]Explicit
[/COLOR]
[COLOR=darkblue]Sub[/COLOR] CreateNamedRanges()

[COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] sName           [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]String[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] LastRow         [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]Long[/COLOR]
    [COLOR=darkblue]Dim[/COLOR] i               [COLOR=darkblue]As[/COLOR] [COLOR=darkblue]Long[/COLOR]

LastRow = Cells(Rows.Count, "A").End(xlUp).Row

[COLOR=darkblue]For[/COLOR] i = 1 [COLOR=darkblue]To[/COLOR] LastRow
        sName = Cells(i, "A").Value