Running Macros on Foreign Computers

Excel2015

Greetings everyone,

I'm a long time googler but this is my first time asking a question.

I have written macros for a tool that pulls information from an Access database (230,000+ lines) into the excel file, processes it based on what the user inputs, then spits it out the processed data in another excel file. It was intended to be used globally by my company however when my coworkers in India and Europe have tried to use it, they get error '32809'. At first I thought it was because they were running it on a 32 bit system but IT set up another computer for me with those specs and it worked fine once I changed the format of the access database to .mdb. I developed the tool in US Excel 2010 and it is being used on 2007/2010 globally.

It also has many layers of protection (the sheets themselves, the workbook, and the macros in VBA). I am going to try to rearrange the code so it protects on opening after compiling then unprotects on close to see if that changes anything. It has to be protected to maintain the integrity of the file because many users are technologically challenged.

I've started to wonder if there could be a language/region issue?

Unfortunately I can't post the code exactly but I can try to give as many examples as possible if it will help. Its mostly a lot of ifs and loops.

I greatly appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks!

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
At the moment, that error tends to indicate an issue with ActiveX controls on worksheets. Does your tool use them?

Upvote 0
make up a very small spreadsheet and single macro with no protection, get it working for you, then ask an Indian employee to try it out, and report back

Upvote 0
Yes, it does use ActiveX and forms too. Forgot to mention that, sorry.