Format number based on input value

l1011driver

Board Regular
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Thank you in advance for any help. I'm a novice so no help is too remedial for me.

I have a worksheet in which I'd like to format a cell such that the number entered is formatted based on the input value.

If the entered value is between 2500 and 3500 I would like for Excel to return that number with a decimal inserted to two decimal places. For example, if I enter "3015" I'd like Excel to return the value "30.15". If I enter "3000" I'd like Excel to return the value "30.00" (as opposed to "30").

If the entered value is between 700 and 1500 I would like for Excel to return that number. For example, if I enter "1025" I'd like Excel to return the value "1025". If I enter "987" I'd like Excel to return the value "987".

The entered numbers will be only positive integers in these number ranges. Numbers outside these ranges would be rejected. This would apply to only one cell in one worksheet.

Thanks in advance for any help anyone might be.

Sincerely,

l1011driver

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Hi JackDanIce,

Thanks for this link, but to be honest I've seen this one and several others regarding number format and they were of little help. I have three problems:

1. I don't really know the syntax for the logic to account for the difference in output between the two input values
2. I can't find anything to resolve Excel returning "30" instead of "30.00" when I input 3000. I tried setting up a custom format "##.##" and it still returned "30".
3. I don't know the syntax for an error message when the input values are outside of the ranges that I describe.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks for taking time to reply.

Upvote 0