Preparing worksheet (press ESC to cancel)

JorgeChibante

Hello,

First of all let me just say this is my first post here, I'm sorry if anything goes against the rules.

I am having a problem with an excel workbook that I can't solve because I'm not really experienced with excel, I'm still learning.

I have a workbook that is quite complex and quite large (around 27mb). This workbook fetches information from a SQL Database and creates several sheets based on the information it fetches. However is not a ridiculous amount of sheets, the exemple I'm talking about has 15 sheets, most of them are hidden, and 7 are visible.
When the workbook is opened it connects to the database fetches the necessary information and does either two things, either creates worksheets or updates some tables on the worksheets if they already exist.

This process takes around (on this particular book that has quite a lot of information, usually they are around 3mb) 3 or 4 minutes. I know that is a lot of time but it's not these 4 minutes that bother me.

The code that runs this update process is on the "Workbook_Open" event and usually takes around 10 to 15 seconds. On this particular workbook it takes more time probably because of the amount of information.
However after this event is over on the status bar I get a message that says "Preparing worksheet (press ESC to cancel)" and it takes maybe around 30 minutes for this to be over. I do not know if excel is doing some calculations or whatever it is doing. I would like to know what it is doing so that I can solve it.

After this I get another message on the status bar showing "Calculating (xx Processors)" for around 30 seconds and after this the file is ready for use.

I would like to know if there is any way of knowing what excel is doing on that "Preparing worksheet" process and how can it become faster.

The file has some conditional formatting and 3 images.