VBasic - command buttons stopped working

RogerThePerson

I have a Mastermind game sheet that uses many command buttons. After several YEARS(!), it suddenly stopped working.
I'm using Excel 2010 at the office but the workbook is saved as Excel 97-2003 for compatibility with my home PC (this has worked fine for years).
The buttons are all enabled and are seen to respond, but none of them work - the code just doesn't run.
I have tried disabling subroutines one at a time, by converting each line to a comment.
I tried adding a new command button to do a simple task but the new button also fails to do anything.

Any ideas?

Excel Facts

How to create a cell-sized chart?
Tiny charts, called Sparklines, were added to Excel 2010. Look for Sparklines on the Insert tab.
Are they activeX buttons or Form buttons?

Upvote 0
I've looked through all the 'File > Options > Trust Center' settings and can't find anything that's turned off but looks like it should be on (or vice versa).

Upvote 0
Are they activeX buttons or Form buttons?
I've read about ActiveX but I'm afraid I was brought up on Spectrum Basic and assembler and don't really understand what it actually means (doh!).
In case this helps you:

I always start off writing code by firstly using the 'Command Button (ActiveX Control)' button to create each command button on the sheet.
In Design mode, I then right-click and select 'View Code' to get:

Private Sub CommandButton1_Click()

End Sub

This method has always worked well for me.

Upvote 0
Upvote 0
There's your answer. ;)
Can you try using a form button and assigning a macro to it instead? If that works, I suspect you're running into yet another activeX update issue. (See here for example: Office Update breaks ActiveX controls | Excel Matters)

Good suggestion - thanks - but I remember this ActiveX bug arising a long while back. Our IT dept circulated the fix instructions (removal of *.exd files) and all was well. This problem is new, and affects only THIS workbook.