Add (Sum) multiple cells in a column and display results in message box

jaybird2569

Good afternoon,

I am just beginning with VBA and use this site quite often for guidance, now I need to post a question of my own. I have a worksheet with multiple columns where I need to know the sum of mixed cells. I would like the macro to start off with a message box instructing to select a column to perform the function then after selecting a column heading (B, C, D, etc) the macro would complete four separate functions and provide the results in a message box. An example would be after the prompt to select a column, user selects column C, the macro adds cells 3 & 6 for one total, cells 4 & 7 for another total, cells 5 & 8 for another total and cell 10 for another total then provides all 4 totals in one message box. The cells I would be adding would always be the same, only the user selected column would change.

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.
Welcome to the board.

Select the column first, then run (perhaps via a keyboard shortcut),

Code:
Sub OddSums()
  With ActiveWindow.RangeSelection(1).EntireColumn
    .Range("A3, A6, A4, A7, A6, A8, A10").Select
    MsgBox Replace("@3 + @6 = " & .Cells(3).Value2 + .Cells(6).Value2 & vbLf & _
                   "@4 + @7 = " & .Cells(4).Value2 + .Cells(7).Value2 & vbLf & _
                   "@6 + @8 = " & .Cells(6).Value2 + .Cells(8).Value2 & vbLf & _
                   "@10 = " & .Cells(10).Value2, "@", Split(.Address(False, False), ":")(0))
  End With
End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Or something like this?

Code:
Sub sumcells()
Dim selectCol As String
Dim SumA As Long, SumB As Long, SumC As Long, sumTotal As Long

selectCol = InputBox("Select Column (letter):")
SumA = Cells(3, selectCol).Value + Cells(3, selectCol)
SumB = Cells(4, selectCol).Value + Cells(7, selectCol)