Excel as a product configurator

Sayre

Board Regular
I have created and have been maintaining an Excel based configuration tool for almost 2 years now. Am self-taught with Excel as it helps with my IT sales job quite a bit. Response from my customers is overwhelmingly positive. Its been nothing short of astonishing. Response from anyone in management on the opther hand, is either indifferent or fearful/ignorant. They seem to see only risk, not opportunity. Will not let me take my ideas any further in their org.

I think I've found a large void that needs to be filled in my industry but unsure of what to do next. Can't seem to find much in the way of existing career paths for Excel based product config tools.

Are there any? I have no formal programming background of any kind, just a lot of 'learn as I go'. But I think that's the beauty of it. Did not seem too difficult to go from zero knowledge to where I am now.

Would appreciate any ionfo, advice, etc....

Just found this site tonight and its great!

AS

Excel Facts

How can you automate Excel?
Press Alt+F11 from Windows Excel to open the Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) editor.
Welcome to the Board!

That's awesome that you've developed a tool that helps your business! Unfortunately, many of us deal with or have dealt with managers who don't see the benefit in some work and stifle it. You could try to shop it around on your own, but note that if you developed it on your company's time, then they most likely own the intellectual rights to it, not you. Unless you reach an agreement with them to try to sell it on your own (maybe offer to give them a cut), you're treading on thin ice with regards to any profits you may generate.