MS Word 2013: Plain Text Content Control & Checkbox Tab Index

mrmmickle1

I am making a form in MS Word. I have 4 Content Control Boxes and 21 Check Boxes.

All of these Tab In the Correct Order When I leave the document Unrestricted.

When I Restrict Editing >Editing Restrictions > Filling In Forms > Protect

the Tab Index Goes Haywire. It skips over every other checkbox.

1. Have I unintentionally grouped these?
2. Can I name these Objects and set a tab Order?

I tried selecting a control and typing in the immediate window:

?Selection.Name

I get an error message... How can Identify these objects and set a Tab Order for them??

I'm not too good with MS Word Docs....Any help with this issue would be much appreciated!!! Thanks.

Excel Facts

Wildcard in VLOOKUP
Use =VLOOKUP("Apple*" to find apple, Apple, or applesauce
That suggests you're using a mix of content controls and legacy controls (ActiveX and/or formfields). You really should stick with just one kind. If you use content control checkboxes, they'll work quite happily without any kind of protection.

Upvote 0
Macropod,

Thank you for taking a look at my inquiry.

I double checked just to be sure:

1. I deleted all existing Checkboxes
2. Added All Content Control Checkboxes
3. Restricted Editing to Filling in Forms
4. Tried to tab through the Checkboxes.

The result was a failure. Tabbing only worked on a few Checkboxes. I did notice that when I hit the tab key in the Status bar it says: This modification is not allowed because the selection is locked.
I do not recall locking any checkboxes....I'm sure I haven't because I only just added them. I did not adjust any of their properties.

Note: The checkboxes exist in a Table "cells".... if this might have anything to do with this odd behavior.

Any help or assistance fixing this issue would be appreciated.

Upvote 0
I was able to fix the tab issue by:

Set Content Control Boxes to ----> Cannot be deleted