Anyone else having inexplicable bugs with Excel 2013?

ClimoC

I've been programming for Excel since about 2002, and have never run into problems quite like these.

Some users in our office are moving over to 2013, and from minute one, problems are starting to show.

The core of the WB is that it's an ODBC connection to a database (Query Table), and then change_events in the sheet either fire off data writes to the server, or selectionchange_events validate the data types allowed.

Some weird behaviours I've started seeing:

Slow - like really slow. 2010 will open the workbook from a server, run login scripts, update 6 query tables, and be ready for user-input within about 5 seconds. 2013? 15 seconds to load.

Screen Freezes - despite my testing post-script run, (ScreenUpdating, EnableEvents, Calculation all return as 'True') - the screen stops drawing. Windows seems to be fine, but Excel is neither 'Not Responding' nor can you interact with it in anyway other than to kill Excel or minimise it. Minimising the window and reopening it causes it to hang for a second, and then resume fine as if nothing had ever happened.

Random(?) Range.Validation error - As above with the selection_change events, some fields present a dropdown when a cell in that field is clicked on. I get 'Application or object defined error'. Clicking resume on the code and it runs just fine, and then doesn't present a problem for the next 5-20 clicks. Then it happens again.

And does anyone know how to turn off their 'sexy' Selection-Cursor tails when jumping cells? I'm sure it's unnecessary overhead

Excel Facts

Excel Joke
Why can't spreadsheets drive cars? They crash too often!
Hi, I'm not programming like you, but ever since Excel 2007 it has seemed bug-ridden. Even worse, my boss' Excel bugs are different from mine.