Question about a project

gocolts12

I work at a lab that takes lab data from hospitals, and places the info into a spreadsheet. Every month has its own set of daily sheets for the whole month with all the necessary data listed.

The way the system works now is that someone goes in at the end of every month and has to manually copy-paste the data from each individual day onto one sheet that covers the whole month.

My task is to come up with a way to automate the "end of the month aggregation" so that all the data that is input on a daily basis is being written into the end of the month sheet at the same time.

The solution I came up with is to create the entire month (each day and the one sheet for the total) at the start of each month, and link the last page to each daily page. Creating everything by hand on a monthly basis doesn't seem very elegant, but I don't know how it could be further automated.

Does anyone have any other ideas? I'm kinda new to Excel, so I don't know everything its capable of.

Thanks

Excel Facts

What is the shortcut key for Format Selection?
Ctrl+1 (the number one) will open the Format dialog for whatever is selected.
Excel is a VERY flexible program when it comes to ways to accomplish tasks. You could actually create a macro that would copy all of the data at the end of the month with a push of a button, you can have a macro that runs as soon as you close the spreadsheet that will copy all of your data then close. The options are numerous when it comes to Excel.

Personally I would create a macro that copied the data to the "Monthly" sheet as soon as the person closed the sheet. So they fill in the day tab, close the workbook it runs the code to copy all the data, automatically saves and closes.

Last edited:
Upvote 0