When are you ready?

Comfy

When are you an Advanced user and when are you a Pro?

In comparison to my work colleagues I would say I was advanced but I would never say I was a Pro.

In a friendly conversation about work a friend mentioned that I had lots to offer his/other businesses.

So now I'm in a bit of a quandary:
  1. Stay in my current job (Public Sector - Finance), progression and training options are limited
  2. Take the plunge and put the feelers out for a more BI focused role (Private Sector)

I'm leaning towards 1 at the moment because even though I think I am an advanced user I still feel I know nothing!

But in terms of PQ I'm already 3 years behind and don't want to wait longer to expand my knowledge of BI.

Help!
/Comfy

Excel Facts

Create a Pivot Table on a Map
If your data has zip codes, postal codes, or city names, select the data and use Insert, 3D Map. (Found to right of chart icons).
IMO, it never hurts to look around. Plus it's always good to get out of your Comfy zone. :biggrin:

Of course it can be a bit of a Catch 22 on the training front as many firms only want to hire people who already know the job skillset, rather than employing and then training them up. Though having said that, I can't remember the last time I took a job that I was technically qualified for...

Last edited:

IMO, it never hurts to look around. Plus it's always good to get out of your Comfy zone. :biggrin:

Of course it can be a bit of a Catch 22 on the training front as many firms only want to hire people who already know the job skillset, rather than employing and then training them up. Though having said that, I can't remember the last time I took a job that I was technically qualified for...

Thanks for your input, let's see how far the rabbit hole goes :)

It's really easy to get into Power BI, and there are tons of tutorials.