Update query based on dates

Texas Longhorn

Hi all,

I'm new to Access and I am trying to do an update query that i could use some help with. I have two tables: [HLT Data] and [CStat Data]. In [HLT Data], I am trying to update the field Debt to be the [CStat Data].[DebtMM] value where two conditions are met: (1) The unique company identifier in each table matches, and (2) [CStat Data].DataDate is the largest date that is less than or equal to [HLT Data].NewDate.

What I've done is started an Update Query where I have linked the unique company identifier between the two tables. However, I'm not sure how to deal with the date criterion. The [HLT Data] table has monthly fields, whereas [CStat Data] is quarterly. I'm trying to associate the correct quarterly datapoint from [CStat Data] with each monthly date in [HLT Data]. As an example:

Code:
[HLT Data].NewDate          [CStat Data].DataDate         [CStat Data].DebtMM
6/30/96                           4/17/96                             50
7/31/96                           7/19/96                             60
8/31/96                           7/19/96                             60
9/30/96                           7/19/96                             60
10/31/96                         10/16/96                            55
Here's what I've done, which has nothing to address the date issue:

Code:
UPDATE [HLT Data] INNER JOIN [CStat Data] ON [HLT Data].PERMNOLink = 
[CStat Data].NPERMNO SET [HLT Data].Debt = [CStat Data].DebtMM;

Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Bill

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).
I would do this in a few steps (you can later go back and nest the code if you want to make it all one query).

1. Make a Select Query similar to what you have already, but add the following criteria under [CStat Data].DataDate:
Code:
 <=[HLT Data].NewDate