Updating the Access Table with a excel spread sheet

Stildawn

Board Regular
Hi All

I am just starting out on a new Access project.

Basically what I have in Access is a table which lists jobs via their HB Number (as well as a ID number access gives them). For each job there is a bunch of details and some Yes/No fields.

Each day I will get a dump from another system that will list jobs like this, I then need to "Update" the Access table with any new information from the excel dump. The update would need to:

1. Insert new records (jobs) from Excel dump into Access Table
2. Update any of the records fields (except HB of course as its unique) in the access table from the Excel dump (the Excel dump obviously wont have access ID numbers, but will have the HB)

For a real basic example:

Access Table Like So:

IDHBFinished
15AYes
25BNo
35CNo
45DNo

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Dump looks like this:

HBFinished
5ANo
5BYes
5CYes
5DYes
5ENo

<tbody>
</tbody>

So some Yes/No's are different and there is a new HB called "5E"

After the "update" Access should look like this:

IDHBFinished
15ANo
25BYes
35CYes
45DYes
55ENo

<tbody>
</tbody>

This example is overly simple, the actually data has lots of different fields and many many many more records. But yeah basically need to update the table from an excel dump.

Any ideas on how to do this? I thought it was as simple as doing a Excel Import > Append Table thing in Access, but that just seems to add the new records and ignore the updated fields?

Thanks in advance

Cheers

Also posted here: Updating the Access Table with a excel spread sheet

Excel Facts

Can you AutoAverage in Excel?
There is a drop-down next to the AutoSum symbol. Open the drop-down to choose AVERAGE, COUNT, MAX, or MIN
In an update to this, ideally each time I do this update I would like it to also use the following code:

Code:
Function LogChanges(lngID As Long, Optional strField As String = "")    
    Dim dbs As DAO.Database
    Dim rst As DAO.Recordset