Importing data to Access database with lookup tables

adibakale

Board Regular
I am fairly new to Access but starting to get the grasp of it.

I am creating an Access database and I need clarification on using lookup tables.

I import an excel file once a week to a temporary table. From there, I append the data to the main tables to seperate the information accordingly. I want to create additional tables - a CityTable and a StateTable. There are hundreds of records that get imported once a week and many Customers have the same City and State, so I would like to avoid repeating this duplicate information for every record.

My question is, When I append the data from the temporary table to the main tables, Would I append the City data to the main table, or to the City Lookup table?

Here is an example of my Customer table:

Primary Key
Account Number
Customer Name
Street
City
State
Zip Code

I would like to create these lookup tables:

tbl City
tbl State

So, when I append my temporary table to my Customer Table, would I append the City information to the Customer Table? Or too the City table? Same question for the State table.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
You'd check if the state/city exist in their respective tables, if not add them.

You'd then add the primary key of the state/city to your customer table.

Fwiw though, I probably wouldn't normalising the cities unless I expected huge amounts in a small amount of cities. If that were the case you may add the state as a foreign key in the city table then simply join the city to the customer to get both

Upvote 0
"You'd check if the state/city exist in their respective tables, if not add them"