Lookup in Table

CodenameAter

Hello,

I have one table that contains all my raw data that gets inputted into access. This data includes an RFID (a tracking number) that is assigned to a specific band. Similar relationships to a customer ID number and customer name.

When I attempt to lookup the "band" value in the table that includes all the bands and their respective RFID in my raw data table, it keeps coming out blank. I am new to access so I feel like I might be make a very rookie mistake on this but following a variety of tutorials online, I still haven't had any success.

I included three screenshots below. One is of the relationship that was automatically created when I followed many of the tutorials online. One is a sample of the scrub data (basically the raw data) and one of the bands & their RFIDs. As you can see in the scrub data, bands is empty however I want Access to lookup based on the RFID in both tables and fill in the appropriate band.

I hope this makes sense. Thank you.

https://app.box.com/s/e0nzww82wcazymjrel3hjxrq6pkxf8y4

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
So I solved my own issue.

Clearly a newbie mistake but I have to override my current RFID field with the band data. I was thinking in excel terms where I would, in a new row write something like =index(BandsArray,Match(Rfid,RfidArray,0).

So my question is how do I show both? Whenever I try to do this in the Lookup Wizard I still get blank values.

Upvote 0
For starters, you should not be using lookups in tables. They should be in Forms. Look at the following link

The Access Web - The Evils of Lookup Fields in Tables