Using a query to get data from multiple rows into a single row?

MarkN

Hi, peoples.

I am a complete newbie to Access, so please be gentle with me. :LOL: I'm maybe an advanced beginner with Excel - I can do some simple macros, but nothing fancy.

Here's my story:

I have a table which has data in multiple rows, and I need to put it into a single row. Each table describes objects (which have a unique ID), and each object has 1-6 sub-objects. Each sub-object is in its own row, and each sub-object has various attributes (fields). Also, each object has attributes which are common to all sub-objects and which are repeated in each sub-object row. For example:

IDObjectIDSub_objectIDAttribute 2Attribute 3Attribute 4Attribute 5Attribute 6Attribute 7Attribute 8
11Truck Drivertessaract29BigHeavyweightBlackTen
212Truck Drivercube92SmallLightweightredTen
313Truck Driverblock88MediumMiddleweightgreenTen
414Truck Drivertessaract51TinyLight HeavyweightpurpleTen
521Farmercube36MediumBantamweightblueNinety
622Farmercircle29SmallHeavyweightpinkNinety
723Farmeroval79BigLightweightredNinety
824Farmer
disk46SmallHeavyweightBlackNinety
931Salesmantriangle52SmallHeavyweightblueTwelve
1032Salesmandisk16MediumLightweightredTwelve
1133SalesmanSquare3BigMiddleweightpinkTwelve
1234Salesmancircle72SmallLight HeavyweightgreenTwelve
1335Salesmancircle36BigBantamweightsevenTwelve

<tbody>
</tbody>

As you can see, Object 1 has 4 sub-objects. Attribute 2 (Truck Driver) and Attribute 8 (Ten) are common to its 4 sub-objects. Attributes 3-7 are different for each sub-object.

I need to get from this layout, to something that looks like this:

IDObjectIDAttribute 2Attribute 3Attribute 4Attribute 5Attribute 6Attribute 7Attribute 8
11Truck Driver"tessaract, cube, block, tessaract""29, 92, 88, 51""Big, Small, Medium, Tiny""Heavyweight, Lightweight, Middleweight, Light Heavyweight""Black, red, green, purple"Ten