How does Access Work?

thes4s67

Board Regular
Hello all,

I've never used MS Access before but I know it handles database stuff. (I think) Well if it does, I was wondering is it possible to do some work in Excel and then import it to the MS Access DB which will update the actual SQL database? Essentially right now, I do some work in Excel then I import it manually via a web interface. Can I further automate this using a combination of Excel and Access or should I just learn how to connect to my SQL database with VB in Excel itself?

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
For what it's worth, you can also use ADO to connect Excel to MySQL databases if you have an ODBC provider for it - just the same way you would connect to MSAccess or SQL server (if you are into writing VBA code for your data access).

Upvote 0
For what it is worth, MS Access has a Linked Table toolused widely in the industry.

A Linked Table can be set directly to Excel. It is up to the Excel user tounderstand the concepts of database. An example might be a primary key columncan't have duplicates. The Linked Table from Access allows fantastic data-typeconversion.
The linked table using SQL Server Native Client (a free ODBC down load) allowsAccess to use SQL Server including a free web version known as Azure.
Access provides an excellent link between Excel and SQL Server that includesdata type conversion assistance.

In a recent task, I was able to write code in MS Access that remotely searched,catalogued, and harvested data from over 3,000 Excel workbooks with varyingamount of worksheets (3 to 9 each worksheet with around 20,000 rows), located at dozens of network locations, and migrate the data into SQL Server.
This provided a full audit trail for a regulatory organization that desired toupgrade from Excel to SQL Server.