Hi All,

I am new to Access and need your help... Here is how my table looks like

ProjectID Phase start Date End Date
---------------------------------------------------
Project1 Phase2 07/08/16 07/15/16
Project1 Phase1 06/20/16 06/29/16
Project1 Phase3 07/20/16 07/29/16
Project1 Phase4 08/23/16 09/19/16

I need to calculate the date difference between two phases.

For Example difference between End date of Phase 1 and start date of phase 2 for Project 1 :ROFLMAO:

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
You can use DLookup functions or even a sql join. It would be more flexible if you used 1, 2, 3, 4 for phases (numbers) instead of text - although even here you can parse out the number from the words (get 1 from "Phase1", 2 from "Phase2", etc.).

Upvote 0
You can use DLookup functions or even a sql join. It would be more flexible if you used 1, 2, 3, 4 for phases (numbers) instead of text - although even here you can parse out the number from the words (get 1 from "Phase1", 2 from "Phase2", etc.).

Thanks xenou for speedy reply.. but Phase I mentioned here is just for example, in actual table it has phase name so I can't change it. :(

As I said I am totally new to Access and not aware of joins and SQL's ... any help from you regarding this is appreciated.

Upvote 0
Honestly, this is not a good fit for access then, and it will be even worse if you don't know anything about SQL or joins.

For the record, here a way to write the query. It assumes you put a table in your database called Dual that has one record in it. The name of the field and the value of the record is irrelevant but customarily you call the field Dummy and give the record the value of 'X'.
Code: