PowerPivot model: Duplicate rows adding up to over inflated total.

HarryR1

Hi all
I am new to PowerPivot and data models, and I am querying an SSAS cube in a PowerPivot data model. I have a problem with duplicate names inflating figures. The duplicates come from a Project Server SSAS cube.
RowProject NameCost
11004 - Parent Project£500
21004 - Sub Project£200
31004 - Sub Project with same name as Parent Project£300

<tbody>
</tbody>
Rows 2 and 3 are both sub projects that make up the whole project that is totalled up in row 1. However, when looking a the results in PowerPivot, the model is adding all these three rows separately, producing a total figure of £1000.
How can I get the model to a)recognise the hierarchy from Project Server. it does if querying the cube directly in excel into a pivot chart but not in a PowerPivot model.
Is there a DAX or MDX calculation I can use to only select or count the highest figure of any duplicates rows with the same name?
I understand it's a pretty complex question but hoping someone can help.
Thanks in advance.
Harry

Excel Facts

Ambidextrous Undo
Undo last command with Ctrl+Z or Alt+Backspace. If you use the Undo icon in the QAT, open the drop-down arrow to undo up to 100 steps.
So, in the your sample, there is just NOTHING that makes it clear there is a parent/child relationship between those rows. You have two choices... (at least :))
1) What you are referencing... create a calculated column which only has a value if it's the highest value of its grouping.
2) actually bring in some parent/child info. (You seem to have a Row# column is there a ParentRow you can bring in?)