Separating Data Effectively

ShadezExcel

Good afternoon,

I have a model that I am trying to refine, including "breaking out" certain costs. Unfortunately, I do not have access to the actual tables at this time in order to make procedural changes that could automatically fix this.

When looking at the below, I would like to have the eventual pivot show the FRT COST transactions in a different column than the regular transactions. Similarly, I would like the FRT BILLED transactions to show up in another column on the eventual pivot than the regular product transactions. I am rather new to Power Pivot - basic measures are not difficult but from the books I have and searches I have done, the sorting in this manner can be difficult. Any ideas?

22wrrLu.jpg

Excel Facts

Back into an answer in Excel
Use Data, What-If Analysis, Goal Seek to find the correct input cell value to reach a desired result
Sorry, not super getting your question, or model.

I can maybe guess that rows w/ FRT-COST is not actually an "itemkey" ?

I don't think you are asking this, but hey... I'm not sure what else to answer... let's pretend you have a dollars column.

[Total Frt Cost] :=CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Dollars]), Table1[itemkey] = "FRT-COST")

That would allow you to drop that measure separately and thus... have it on a different column. but i am skeptical that is what you are asking...

Upvote 0
I'd consider handling this by an account-group-structure.
If you don't have a table where you're grouping your accounts already, just throw this litte tab into your data model:

AcctGroup1
FRT-COST
FRT- BILLED

and connect it with you itemkey-column.
This will create 3 groups for your accounts ("blank"-group for the non-matching No-accounts, but you could give it a nice name in your pivot table).

No need to do anything with your measures then.

Upvote 0