Power Pivot - Splitting a Table between Tabs and then merging in a pivot table

dhsilv2

Board Regular
Hey guys, I'm a pretty big novice with the power pivot tools and to be blunt, I somewhat hate pivot tables to begin with. Not here to rant, but I'm just adding that color as they tend to not be intuitive to me. If a sumifs and index and match are a 2 in easy to read and understand a pivot table is a 400. Anyway, I do somewhat like the idea behind power pivots as they feel more like a sql table and sql is much like a sumifs much easier to work with than normal pivot tables!

So I have some spread sheets I maintain just for fun with nba basketball data. Just dumps from basketball reference. Primarily they are in 3 tables. Totals, Advanced stats, and per 100 stats. I need to do some work to make these tables talk, but I think just taking the unique year and unique players and unique teams and making those independent tables will do the magic there. Anyway to my question.

I want to work with just one of those tables. It lists each player by year in a row. If I took mid year data and instead of adding to my table (which is finalized and won't change) if I made a new table with mid year data, could I join this and create a pivot against it? So for example. I have player in both tables and I want to sum a column called VORP (which is in both tables). Please let me know if you need more details.

Excel Facts

Can Excel fill bagel flavors?
You can teach Excel a new custom list. Type the list in cells, File, Options, Advanced, Edit Custom Lists, Import, OK
One of the limitations of PowerPivot - you cannot append nor replace portions of a table. With that in mind, you have two possible approaches
1) combine History with MidYear as you load the data into PowerPivot
2) maintain History and MidYear as separate tables in PowerPivot, but use DAX equations and conformed dimensions to drive your pivots