DAX/PowerPivot around isolating two date *ranges*

analyst44

Board Regular
Hello!

Been a long time since I've posted/commented here. Such a great community. I'm so glad to see it's still going strong and has added MS's PowerBI/PowerPivot to the mix.

I am a noob in that regard, having slowly worked through Rob Collie's DAX Formulas for PowerPivot and other online training (Chandoo, ExcelIsFun, etc).

I have a very distinct issue and I can't seem to figure out how to use PowerPivot to make it happen. This is important because if I don't, I will lose a lot of powerful functionality downstream.

First an older file with the exact same issue in Excel:

y3mObn5pLY16dzsAYj-8HFNVeVBR95_ZImyiM5SZ3kHRcCMQLCL2lKegH_f6oDlf_0UsCt69wyRDl194dofoGdwX32wE7HR8joMVhDg_WsAU2RSpjOxV7VZVBA17MccuxcxdDnEwx2oU7GTncVbF07Nwe5j-KMBnOQAGE-gGhjDIGY

Basically, what I am doing is trying to discern the Available hours for any given chosen week (Rows 1 and 2), based on whether the person was hired and/or fired.

• So, if they weren't hired before the week in question, 0 available hours.
  • If they where hired before the week started and did not leave/term until after that week, then all available hours (40)
  • If they were hired before the week started and left/termed that week, find the networkdays up until that point and determine available hours (8*number of days)

Back then, I knew this was kludgy when I made it originally, but given the structure of the rest of the file, it worked and allowed me to do what I needed to do.

Now, I have a need to more dynamically do this (the original approach was dynamic for a set amount of weeks) given my PowerPivot approach and for much more flexibility.

I have a raw data table that has hours worked by day.
I have a calendar/dates table that has all the pertinent date breakdowns
I have a StaffList table that has each person's start and stop date (if applicable)