Filter on Sliced Date

swingr45

Hey guys! I'm just starting out with PowerPivot and I've hit a roadblock. I have a Date Table set up that I use to filter my data. I also have linked a table of daily exchange rates, but it is not completely filled in daily (e.g. I have rates for 5/24/14 and 5/26/14, but not 5/25/14...) I'm trying to make a calculated field so that when I slice on the complete Date Table, the most recent exchange rate to the filtered date is used to multiply another field "Amount" (e.g. - if I filter on 5/25/14, I would like the "Amount" field to be multiplied by the exchange rate from 5/24/14 since the 5/25/14 rate isn't available. If I filtered on 5/26/14, it would multiply by the 5/26/14 rate...) Can somebody please help me out or point me in the right direction? I think it will require a LASTDATE() function, but haven't been able to work it out yet and I'm starting to get frustrated. Thanks!

Excel Facts

Copy PDF to Excel
Select data in PDF. Paste to Microsoft Word. Copy from Word and paste to Excel.
How about something like this?
Code:
Best Date:=CALCULATE(LASTDATE(Fx[Date]), FILTER(ALL(Calendar), Calendar[Date] <= MAX(Calendar[Date])))
FxRate := LOOKUPVALUE(FX[Rate], FX[Date], [Best Date])

Upvote 0
Great! Thank you! The date calculation works beautifully, but so far I'm unable to get the rate calculation to work because I need to take it slightly further than your code currently allows.

I have multiple tables with entries from different currencies. Each entry has the currency that it is in. I also have a linked table with all of the different currencies listed out. I'm using this table between the entries table and the exchange rate table.