Colour cells between 2 times but leaving out lunchbreaks

Jackie Grant

Hi Guys, I'm stuck :confused:

I am trying to create a template for a work rota which allows me to schedule a team with various start and finish times, some with and without lunch breaks and split across 2 sites.

I have managed to cobble together most of it with a combination of formula and conditional formatting, but can't get it to leave the lunchbreaks blank so that I can see where the gaps in cover are on both sites.

I'm afraid I am self taught, therefore I don't understand some of the more technical terminology, and haven't figured out how to attach a screenshot, therefore I've tried to give an example of what I've done below - with some of the formula included:

=IF(AND(H$4>=$B5,H$4<=$E5),$F5," ")
The conditional formatting then colours in those cells which have AB in them in Green, or CD in Purple.
Ideally I would like those cells where a lunch break occurs to remain blank.

I hope this makes sense, as it's sure confused me.

I do hope someone can understand enough to be able to help me and thanks a million in advance.

Jackie x :)

A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
Name
Start
Lunch
Lunch
Finish
Site am
Site pm
08:00
09:00
10:00
11:00
12:00
13:00
14:00
15:00
16:00
17:00
18:00
Bob
12:00
AB
CD
G
G
G
G
P
P
P
P
P
Beryl
16:00
CD
CD
P
P
P
P
P
P
P
Belinda
CD
AB
P
P
P
P
P
G
G
G
G
Bert
AB
AB
G
G
G
G
G

<tbody>
</tbody>

Excel Facts

Round to nearest half hour?
Use =MROUND(A2,"0:30") to round to nearest half hour. Use =CEILING(A2,"0:30") to round to next half hour.
Hello,

Just to better understand ... If you do not mind ... ... a few questions :

1. What is the actual formula you are using in cell H5 ...?
2. With a one-hour Lunch break, in row 5 for example .. do you actually need to have both L & M Columns empty ...?
3. What is the current conditional formatting formula you are using ...?

Upvote 0
Jackie, welcome.

Maybe....
Sheet3

*ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQR