DDE server data into excel, how to auto record those datas?

falanks

Dear all, I am a newbie here. Seeking advice for this scenario:

I am using DDE server to transfer trading datas into my excel file. So the specific cell will show the data each time the server sends new data.
I would like to record all the datas into a worksheet. How do i make excel automatically append new datas into the current list of datas?

Thanks in advance

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
Please answer the questions completely or we can go no further...

1. Is there an actual link in your cell that recieves the DDE updates?

The answer to this question is important. Please post the link(function) here...

2. Are you able to use VBA code? You will have to use VBA to automate this as far as I know.

Please see this post for more info.

Upvote 0
Please answer the questions completely or we can go no further...

1. Is there an actual link in your cell that recieves the DDE updates?

The answer to this question is important. Please post the link(function) here...

2. Are you able to use VBA code? You will have to use VBA to automate this as far as I know.

Please see this post for more info.

This is the code in my active cell:

=MT4|BID!USDJPYm

say for example at cell A1. The info in this cell refreshes every ten seconds. So every ten seconds, I would like to store the info into cell A2, then A3... then on....

I have some basic knowledge on visual basic. Should be able to use it.

Hope that I get your question right. Thanks a lot

Upvote 0
Here is a basic example. Dedicate a worksheet for your DDE link(s) and record the data in a separate worksheet. Create a new workbook with two sheets. "DDE_Link" and "Data". Copy and paste the code or download the example.

falanks_DDE_Example.zip