Array formula to find/return a related value

rlerner

I am an extreme beginner when it comes to Excel programming, so I was wondering if someone could help me.

I am getting a CSV file from a web site which has columns of text values. Let's say one has A-Z. I have a worksheet that has 2 columns where if a1 is the value A, A2 is Andrew, b1 = B, b2 = Bob, c1 = C, c2 = Charlie, etc. I need a formula that will read the values that come in a column of the CSV file, compare them to my list in the worksheet, and return the description (text value) in the column next the A-Z column, then do it again for the next row and so on. They're actually product SKUs and descriptions, I've attached a jpg that might help describe what I'm trying to do.

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
excel-help.jpg

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
rlerner,

Welcome to the MrExcel board.

You are posting a picture. This means that if this was a problem where one needed to use your data, anyone trying to help you would have to enter the data manually. That makes no sense and I doubt you'd get any anwer.

Please post a screenshot of your sheet(s), what you have and what you expect to achieve, with Excel Jeanie HTML 4 (contains graphic instructions).
http://www.excel-jeanie-html.de/html/hlp_schnell_en.php

Or, with:

Please post a screenshot of your sheet(s), what you have and what you expect to achieve, with Colo's HTML Maker.
http://www.puremis.net/excel/downloads.shtml

Instructions for using "Colo's HTML Maker":
http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=89356

Upvote 0
Thanks. Here is a snapshot ofthe product description list. I want to draw from the SKU from the CSV file, finding the matching SKU in column A in this sheet, and return the value of the description in column B to a column in the CSV file (below).

HTML:
Product Description List