Need simple look up or match formula

Thankful01

I want to return all the results from a match or lookup formula instead of the first result.

Here is what I have

A B
NAME BIRTHDAY
Sally 1-May
Sam 5-Jun
Suzy 1-Jan
Tom 5-Jun
Zach 5- Jun

Today's Date: cell F3 (pretend today's date is 5-Jun)

Today's Birthdays: cell F4 (here I want a list of everyone with a birthday today. In this case, cell F4 should say: Sam, Tom, Zach )

What formula would you use to get all the matches? If there are no matches, I want the cell to say "none"

I'm not a master at excel but found this forum so I thought I would ask. Can anyone help me with a formula to do this? You will need to write it out for me as I am new to Excel instead of saying just use "this function".

Thanks.

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
Thanks! Did I mention I was a beginner? That link went whoosh over my head. I do not speak excel yet.

Here's what I've got:

data range A3:B7

Find Match to cell F3 in column B3:B7

return the corresponding values in column A3:A7 of all matches found into cell F4 seperated by ","

if no matches, return "None" into cell F4

I was so excited to figure out how to get one match using this:

=INDEX(A3:A7,MATCH(F3,B3:B7,0))

But I'm stumped on how to get all the matches seperated by a "," into the cell and return "none" if there are no matches. Surely there is a way to do this?

Can anyone of you Excel masters hold my hand on this? I don't speak excel yet, I'm still trying to figure it out on my own. My real database contains about 130 kids and their birthdays but the layout is pretty much the same ... I don't know if that matters...but from what I've found, it looks like match can look through that many records.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Upvote 0