ListBox Using VBA

mpopkowski

Board Regular
I'm trying to add to a userform, a simple window, that allows you to scroll down and enter the state you are from. I've gone through the archived articles on this site but have not been successful yet.
I appreciate everybodys patients and don't know where I would be without this site !! :oops:

Excel Facts

How to fill five years of quarters?
Type 1Q-2023 in a cell. Grab the fill handle and drag down or right. After 4Q-2023, Excel will jump to 1Q-2024. Dash can be any character.
I looked at the first example but I must be missing something. There seems to be only one line of code. Where is the January - December read from and I don't have a scroll bar. Please elaborate :oops:

Upvote 0
I have created a userform and added a listbox to it. Since, I've never done a listbox in VBA before, when will I see the scroll bar and where does the data go to allowing the user to scroll through and select ?? I know this probably very easy but I'm claiming stupidity !!! :oops:

Upvote 0
Aloha...

I understand your confusion! Helpful examples if you can figure out how to get around.

If you go to VBE and open the first userform with a list box (the one with the months), click the userform (not the list box) and click Run, you should get a running version of the list box form, scrollbars and everything.

If you have the userform open in VBE, select one of the list boxes, and look in the Properties window, you should see a property way down that says RowSource. It shows that the months come from a workbook sheet called listsheet, and the cells used for the list are a1:a12.

So if you leave VBE and go into the worksheets one is called TableOfContents, the other is ListSheet.

Click on the ListSheet tab, and you'll see the lists the author uses to add items to his/her forms.

Does that help?

(Thanks for the link, PaddyD!)

Tana-Lee

Upvote 0
Aloha Part II....

You're welcome.