Dynamic Data

last90

I am trying to find a way of gathering data for the last 90 days that will update itself.

I am running one sheet (DUTIES) which lists data from January 1st 2013 to the present day. Column A lists dates, columns B to M represent 12 individuals. Three types of data are listed under each individual; LV, MM or JJ (or blank) on each day they work.

I want to display how many MM and JJ events each individual has conducted over the last 90 days, in a cell on a separate sheet (SUMMARY).

It would also be nice if I could enter a given day in a cell and have the outputs on the SUMMARY sheet show how many MM and JJ duties were conducted in the preceding 90 day period.

I'm an Excel newbie so please type slowly!

Thanks

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.
This is easiest accomplished using INDIRECT(). the INDIRECT() function passes an address that you can manipulate to a function. In this case you probably wab tto use the COUNTIF() function to count the number of MM and JJ occurrences in each column, but only for the last 90 days. So we will use INDIRECT to get the address to pass to COUTIF().

As the dates increase to the bottom (assuming you are adding each new day to the bottom of the column), we can use the MAX() function to get the last date. So as your dates are in column A, =MAX(A:A) will give me the last date. Now I am not particularly interested in the last date, I want to know the row number of the last date! To do that I can use the MATCH() function in this case. MATCH() will give me the position of a value in a range. If my range is a complete column then its position is also the row number:
=MATCH(MAX(A:A),A:A)
So now i can construct my address for column B as:
="B"&MATCH(MAX(A:A),A:A)-90&":B"&MATCH(MAX(A:A),A:A)
which would show something like: B23:B113