Change First Name Last Name to First Name Last Initial with "."

MrKirky

I have looked everywhere, but what I really need is to change "John Smith" to "John S." on a public scheduling board. I've tried toying with multiple "first init last name" formulas, and can't quite figure this one out. Any suggestions?

Excel Facts

When did Power Query debut in Excel?
Although it was an add-in in Excel 2010 & Excel 2013, Power Query became a part of Excel in 2016, in Data, Get & Transform Data.
Well, I spoke too soon. I'm sure this one is simple. How do I get it to stop with the "#VALUE!" errors when it refers to a cell that doesn't have a name in it YET? I went into options and unchecked the error correction for cells containing formulas that result in an error. That didn't work.

Upvote 0
I am new to this but this seems to ignore the blanks =IFERROR(LEFT(A1,FIND(" ",A1)+1)&".","")

Upvote 0
Thanks, but it returns "TRUE" everywhere that I had a name before, and it still says "#VALUE!" everywhere else.

Upvote 0
Thanks, but it returns "TRUE" everywhere that I had a name before, and it still says "#VALUE!" everywhere else.

This should work, and you won't need to turn off error correction.

=IF(A1="","",LEFT(A1,FIND(" ",A1)+1)&".")

Upvote 0
Try:
Code:
[/SIZE][SIZE=6][SIZE=1]=IF(LEN(A1)>0,LEFT(A1,FIND(" ",A1)+1)&".","")[/SIZE]
[/SIZE][SIZE=1]

Upvote 0
Your IF/THEN is working perfectly for all cells. Thank You! Thank You to the other contributors, as well!

Upvote 0
Your IF/THEN is working perfectly for all cells. Thank You! Thank You to the other contributors, as well!
Just pointing out that I have a friend whose name the suggested formula won't work correctly on. I'll just a made-up last for this example, but this is her real first name...

Mary Ann Friendly

The current formula returns....

Mary A.

instead of...

Mary Ann F.

If you want to be able to account for people with double first name, you will need a formula like this...