3rd drop-down list based on selection on 2nd one

Mark Butler

I am a 5th grade teacher developing a lesson plan template for myself & for my elementary work colleagues. We are now required to include the Common Core State Standards (CCSS) in our weekly lesson plans. To help with this task, I am working on a template using Excel wherein the teacher can look up common core standards. Here's how I would like the spreadsheet to function:Step 1: The teacher first selects a subject from a drop-down list:Reading Literature Reading Informational Reading Foundation Skills Writing Speaking and Listening Language Mathematics Social Studies ScienceFor example: The teacher selects 'Reading: Literature' from the first cell.Step 2: A second cell then displays the 'long form' list of standards based on the previous selection.For example:READING: LITERATURE CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.1: Quote accurately from a text when explaining what the text says explicitly and when drawing inferences from the text. CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.2: Determine a theme of a story, drama, or poem from details in the text, including how characters in a story or drama respond to challenges or how the speaker in a poem reflects upon a topic; summarize the text. CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.3: Compare and contrast two or more characters, settings, or events in a story or drama, drawing on specific details in the text (e.g., how characters interact). CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.4: Determine the meaning of words and phrases as they are used in a text, including figurative language such as metaphors and similes. CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.5: Explain how a series of chapters, scenes, or stanzas fits together to provide the overall structure of a particular story, drama, or poem. CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.6: CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.6 Describe how a narrator’s or speaker’s point of view influences how events are described. CCSS.ELA-Literacy.RL.5.7: Analyze how visual and multimedia elements contribute to the meaning, tone, or beauty of a