A project File listing Drive managment

AkaTrouble

Hi
I am a relatively new member to the forums although I have read a few posts before joining

I am a relative newbie to excel projects and VBA but have had my interested peeked in how Awesome both this forum and the capabilities of excel can be.

I have viewed a lot of Utube videos both from Mr excel but mostly Excel is fun this along with reading posts here has taught me there is a community out there that want to share and help.

Ok long winded start to post but this is done because I learn more if I apply lessons to actually achieving something. That is what this thread is going to be about (if allowed by mods to stay)

I am not asking for anyone to do it for me, I want this thread to benefit all those reading it not just me, I want to know what and how we do the things discussed, I also want others to feel free to add suggestions not just solutions, this can be to benefit them or the project or just to add some structure.

Ok synopsis of project
Create a workbook that you can import multiple drive file listings into separate worksheets. To split the information into its component parts such as

DRIVE \ PATH \ FILENAME \ FILE EXTENSION \ (POSSIBLE OTHE META DATA TAG INFORMATION)

Also to be able to combine all off the separate sheets into a master index or at least using look-ups or slicers to create a filtered list or report based on required info as example

5 EXTERNAL DRIVES FILE LISTINGS ON 5 IMPORTED SHEETS TO PULL OUT INFORMATION FROM ALL DRIVES SHOWING ALL EXCEL SPREADSHEETS OR ALL MP3 FILES ETC

Following is how I do this now which could be considered doing it in longhand rather than shorthand

First is to get the file list ( I will explain this in a little detail as may help others solve their own issue)

I create a notepad (TXT) file called filelisting.bat
(This .bat extension means that it is treated as a batch file in CMD prompt and will execute commands inside when double clicked)