A statistically weighted average question

L

Legacy 143009

Hi all!

I am not an expert in statics and I need help from people who are more specialized in this topic.

Let's say I have 64, 72, 78, 96, and 98. I want to build an average system (most likely a formula) that will figure out its own weight without me manually predefine the weights. My aim is to output an average considering 2 factors: the count of numbers within a relative range and distance.

In my example, the numbers are populated between 64-78 mostly (3 elements). What I want is to have the effect of 96 and 98 less since the count of them is 2. But they are still close to the first group in terms of distance so I am expecting a result something close to 80's.

Another example would be to add a 2 to the beginning of the series. I want its effect lesser and lesser than the others since it is just a single element and it drops into a far range in comparison to the rest of the more frequent numbers' position.

I hope I am not speaking nonsense. I am sure this has an equivalent method in statistics science. I've googled mean, median and modulus concepts but I was not able to figure it out by myself. Hope to get an answer. Thank you very much!

Excel Facts

Excel Can Read to You
Customize Quick Access Toolbar. From All Commands, add Speak Cells or Speak Cells on Enter to QAT. Select cells. Press Speak Cells.
Have a look at the frequency function it sounds like that could be a step on the way to getting what you are looking for

Upvote 0
Yes, I thought the same but I don't know how to relate it with my problem. Also it needs bin data. I am looking for something which will figure out its own frequent regions.

Last edited by a moderator:
Upvote 0
The Forum Search works very well for specific questions. I think this post should help!
This is not what I am looking for unfortunately. In this method you have to predefine weights (significance).