Access 2010 not responding

amtrad

Hi Guys

I'm new to Access 2010 and would appreciate some basic help. I work with Excel quite a bit and had a basic stock comparision model which is struggling in Excel so I have imported this to Access to try to see if I could figure out a quicker and more efficient way to perform the comparison and also learn Access at the same time.

I have imported 2 tables into Access from Excel 2010 - one table is 136,000 rows and the other 16,000 rows. I was planning to try the queries and play to see what I could learn but every time i switch from one table to the other I get the '..not responding' line at the top.

It also says (Access 2007) at the top which I don't understand. I have googled and microsoft have a workround that tells of problems of this type due to compatibility issues with HP protect tools biometric - I work on a HP desktop with HP protect tools but no biometric software enabled. I tried running as administrator as they suggest but no difference.

Can anyone help?

Thanks

Amtrad

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.
It also says (Access 2007) at the top which I don't understand.
The file format is Access 2007 which is what 2010 uses as well. So that is why it says that.

I have googled and microsoft have a workround that tells of problems of this type due to compatibility issues with HP protect tools biometric - I work on a HP desktop with HP protect tools but no biometric software enabled. I tried running as administrator as they suggest but no difference.
I'm not sure about this but I wonder if you need to uninstall the HP Protect Tools and not just have the biometrics disabled.

Also, are you working on this file directly on your computer or from a network location?

Upvote 0
Hi Bob

Thanks for the reply.

I'm working on a standalone HP pc.