Access fills in blank fields

GolfingTitan116

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello.

I'm new to Access but learning quick. I have several dropdowns on my Form, which I want to be blank when end user opens the form. So I set the Default Value to blank, but for some reason, when you fill in any other field in the form, it populates those dropdowns with "No".

Here you can see the form without typing anything in:

1.png

Here, as soon as I fill in the Due Date, the drop downs to the right populate with "No":

2.png

Any idea why this would be happening?

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
How are those 2 drop downs set up in both the form and the table that they are being fed to/from?

I suspect that your Date Requested is defaulted to the current date, so it doesn't create the record in the table until you populated the Due Date, at which is when you see the two "No" populations.

Upvote 0
So, both dropdowns were created the same, so I'll just focus on the one.

The first image is from the table... the 2nd is from the form.

3.png

4.png

Again, I'm learning Access, so I'm not sure if that's the information you need. Please let me know if you need anything else and thanks for the help!

Upvote 0
I believe the Yes/No data type won't allow for a null once the record is established. So you will want to create the field in the table as a Short Text, and then add some pieces to the Lookup tab (you have that tab displayed on your first screenshot):

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    19 KB · Views: 7
Upvote 0
If not using the table design options, true false, yes no, on off fields should be integer, not text. Use values of -1,0 (T/F)