Access keeps saying cant run possibly because of size

mahmed1

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
2,245
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Lovely people

I have a database that has gone just over 2GB - i update this database each day

i have stumbled across an issue where my query wont update because of possible corrupted file but i think it may be to do with size as if i restore previous file that is lower than the 2gb then it appears to run fine

how can i get around this without having to recreate another DB
 

Excel Facts

Square and cube roots
The =SQRT(25) is a square root. For a cube root, use =125^(1/3). For a fourth root, use =625^(1/4).

xenou

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Mar 2, 2007
Messages
16,836
Office Version
  1. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
There is a size limitation - last I checked it was 2 Gb.

1) if you have never or rarely done so then you want to do a "Compact and Repair" which frees up unused space that can make the DB bigger than it needs to be.

2) if that doesn't work you must get creative. Some ideas here:
 

Micron

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
2,233
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
ALWAYS copy a db before running a c/r on it. It's not common, but it can corrupt a db, especially if there's no space left for overhead.
If your db contains attachment fields, it is likely the culprit and splitting it into separate db's is not the answer IMHO. Getting rid of the attachments and using a text field for file path is the answer.
 

mahmed1

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
2,245
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Hiya

my database has links to 3 other tables using ODBC

i then store daily data into a table using a query to update the table....

so 3 links to tables using odbc
Table called rolling which holds data each day
A query that gets the data from
Linked tables to store data into rolling
 

Micron

Well-known Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2015
Messages
2,233
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
So no attachments then. How many records are filling your rolling table? Are you appending only new and updating existing, or simply appending and creating lots of duplicate records? You should be doing the latter.

I once created a db that did exactly that (over night) because the source tables had millions of records in each, and updates could take several minutes to extract the relevant data.
This sort of operation might be unavoidable, but as the link suggests, there are ways to deal with it if appending'updating approach doesn't help.
 

mahmed1

Well-known Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2009
Messages
2,245
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Thank you

yh its appending data each day so we keep a log of whats been outstanding every days its been run
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,140,995
Messages
5,703,619
Members
421,306
Latest member
ambuj Thakur

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top